This week in books

This Week In Books (February 10th 2016)

thisweekinbooks

This Week In Books is a great meme hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found where you sum-up what you’ve been reading during the week.

∧ Then ∧ Too Many Cooks / Champagne For One, Rex Stout
I am glad I came back to mystery with this book. It’s not just about murders, hints, and culprits. The setting, the writing, and well-written characters make those stories different from what I expected. I will definitely be reading more of Stout’s novels in the near future.

≈ Now ≈ 2084, Boualem Sansal
This week is all about my love for Valentine chocolate 1984. That’s why I picked 2084. The blurb describes it as Orwell’s descendant and I’m curious to see how far the author went to draw parallels. I was a bit irritated by the title because while the book was acclaimed by French media, and everyone talked about it, no one mentioned the obvious link between the two novels. I thought it was unfair to one of my favorite books of all time.

∨ Next ∨ Fahrenheit 451, Ray Bradbury
As 1984 is this week’s theme, I thought it was time to read the books often quoted with it. The library didn’t have a copy of Huxley’s Brave New World available so it’ll have to wait till next week.

Now, what’s on your reading list this week? 🙂

7 thoughts on “This Week In Books (February 10th 2016)”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.